I wrote to Cadbury’s asking if they could tell me which of their products are vegan. I also queried whether Bournville was still vegan becuase I thought one of the main things about dark chocolate was that it did not contain milk. Anyway here’s what they wrote!

Thank you for e-mail concerning the suitability of our products for a vegan diet.

All of our products contain milk in their ingredients, with the exception of Fry’s Chocolate Cream, Peppermint Cream and Orange Cream. However, these products are manufactured on the same production line as products which contain milk in their recipe and therefore there is a possibility of cross contamination. For those consumers with a milk allergy we are taking the precaution of including on future labelling of our Fry’s range, a warning indicating this risk.

Bournville, the original plain chocolate, is changing its site of manufacture to the Cadbury factory in France where vegetable fat is not currently used. The new recipe Bournville will therefore contain butterfat, which will make it unsuitable for a vegan/dairy free diet.

We do appreciate how disappointing this must be for you but please be assured we will be monitoring the situation closely.

Thank you for contacting us.

Regards
Charlie

[email protected]

 

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Categories: LettersVegan

13 Comments

Heena Modi · January 29, 2009 at 12:15 pm

I received the info above recently. Unless I’m misunderstanding it, it says that France don’t use veg fat&it’ll be made there soon! Thus it will cease to be vegan soon.

RUBBISH! It’s non vegan already!

Cadbury’s are a big company right? So how can they be so lame? Why can’t they ensure Bournville remains vegan? Are we evolving or regressing? I cannot believe that Cadbury’s are being forced to make one of their products change from non dairy to including dairy ingredients!

Pol · July 14, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Too many companies all over the world are taking the regression road. There still is good healthy chocolate that is vegan. The best uses cocoa butter instead of vegetable fat – both are vegan, but one is healthier (and more expensive usually)
I’m living in the USA and the same thing is happening at all the major commercial chocolate factories. In the US, Canada, Australia and the UK there is a choice, though to get the real good stuff.

Body detoxification diets · August 19, 2009 at 9:20 am

i became a Vegan three years ago and i can say that my health have been very very good. meat and dairy substitutes like soy also works well for the body.

prashant kumar · September 18, 2010 at 3:34 pm

bournville contains emulsifier 476 which in accordance with http://www.veggieglobal.com is not suitable for vegans .
defend ur self cadbury tht bournville and silk is 100% vegetarian

    Heena Modi · September 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Thanks for your comment Prashant

    What do you mean by “defend ur self cadbury tht bournville and silk is 100% vegetarian”

    As I see it, the main point of dark chocolate is it is more pure than milk chocolate. It has more cocoa and no milk. The fact that they have replaced vegetable fat with butterfat means vegan can’t eat it as it’s a derivative of milk! Such a shame 🙁

    (I’ve not said it’s not vegetarian…)

Phil · June 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Hi Heena,

Thanks for publishing their reply letter. I’ve just checked out the small bars of Bournville in my local Co-op today (23//06/2011), and they have changed back from butterfat to vegetable fat! There is a warning that the product contains milk due to contamination from the milk chocolate production line, but there is no dairy product listed in the ingredients.

Good news! Shame that Co-op’s own dark chocolate all contains dairy produce (except the 85% cocoa bar), even the “fair trade” ones, but at least I have an alternative to Fry’s bars if I’m in a fix.

Phil

    Heena Modi · July 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Thanks Phil.
    It’s good to know that Bournville’s safe to eat again 🙂

Harsh · August 1, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Someone please advice me if the green mark which reflects that the product is vegetarian(not vegan) in India, does really have a guarantee that the chocolate is 100% vegetarian.

I have raised this question after reading one article where its written that most of the milk chocolates are made of whey powder and may contain rennet.

Moreover, i’ve been seeing several reports lately that the companies are using Green veg mark but at the same time,using ingredients or processes which are not suitable for vegetarians.

Any clarification about this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.

    Heena Modi · August 4, 2012 at 6:00 am

    Sorry Harsh.
    I’m not sure.
    I was told the green mark meant vegan but then I came to realise that the person who said this didn’t realise that there was difference between vegetarianism and veganism.
    So sorry. I’m not sure.
    I always read the ingredients now.

      Harsh · August 4, 2012 at 10:34 am

      Green mark for vegan? I even doubt for veg. LOL…If u understand Hindi,then please go through this article. It exposes how they r keeping us in dark and playing with our beliefs. This one and many others like this, encouraged me to find out more about this issue and then, i found ur site.
      http://my.jetscreenshot.com/4056/20120804-dje4-173kb.jpg

Saravanan · August 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

hi
i am a vegetarian. I consume milk and its by products . i live in india

I am concerned about consuming anything which contains animal substances – killed for this purpose.

could you please let me know what are all the products that contains animal substances

    Heena Modi · August 4, 2012 at 6:06 am

    Sorry Saravanan I can’t tell you what all the products that contain animal substances. Maybe ask PETA?
    Also, I do not consume milk so I don’t look at whether it’s vegetarian or not. I look at whether it has any animal products at all i.e. honey, yoghurt, milk etc.

    In case you’re wondering why; honey is made for the bees to eat, which is one of the reason why I don’t consume it.
    Cows, Goats etc. are kept pregnant in order to produce dairy products. The male calves are killed and the females are kept to live the same life as their mothers. They are also artificially impregnated and because of the frequency of it; their life span reduces. There are many other reasons but the last one for now is that the milk is for their babies, not us humans. 🙂

Comments are closed.