I received this by email today. I had no idea that cereal needed Pork or Beef in it! Did you? Read on and find out why it’s ‘needed’
Here’s what kellogs said when asked if they have gelatine in their products
“From: <kellogg@casupport. com>
Thank you for your inquiry regarding gelatin used in some of our products. Â We are glad you contacted us and we are happy to provide you with this information.
Gelatin is used to help the texture of the product and is derived from either beef or pork. Â All gelatin used at Kellogg is certified Kosher.
Gelatin derived from pork is found in: –
Kellogg’sÂ® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives
Kellogg’sÂ® Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal and
Kellogg’s SmorzÂ® cereal.
It is also found in all varieties of Kellogg’sÂ® Rice Krispies TreatsÂ®
Special KÂ® Protein Snack Bars.
Gelatin derived from beef is found in all varieties of: –
Kellogg’sÂ® Frosted Pop-TartsÂ®,
Kellogg’sÂ® Frosted Mini-WheatsÂ® cereal and
Kellogg’sÂ® Rice Krispies TreatsT cereal.
None of the equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Kellogg’sÂ® Frosted Pop-TartsÂ® is used in the production of the other pastries. Â As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg’sÂ® Pop-TartsÂ® do not contain gelatin.
The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.
All Kellogg’sÂ® fruit snacks contain gelatin.
In fruit snacks beef and pork gelatin are used interchangeably based on availability in the marketplace.
Again, thank you for contacting us. Â We appreciate your loyal use of our products and hope that this provides you with the information you need to make food choices appropriate for you and your family.
Grace De La Cruz
Consumer Affairs Department