If you are vegetarian and only eat vegetarian cheese please read on. If you know someone who will appreciate this information, please forward it to them?

This site provides information for vegetarians. Cheese can be made with or without rennet which is derived from the stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. This list specifies those cheeses which are made without the use of rennet. Today more and more cheeses are made with “microbial enzymes” which are widely used in the industry because they are a consistent and inexpensive coagulant. The term “microbial enzyme” means it is a synthetically developed coagulant. The term “vegetable rennet” means it is derived from a vegetable source. Soft cheeses such as cream cheese and cottage cheese are manufactured without rennet. Some cottage cheeses, however, may contain gelatin which is derived from animal sources. All labels should be read carefully.

The information on this site is constantly updated as new information comes in. The entire list will be verified from all manufacturers every three years.


Related Posts with Thumbnails

1 Comment

Sagar · February 11, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Pizza express now state on their menu that many of their pasta dishes can be made vegetarian if the parmesan (actually Grana Padano) is removed…(prior to this, any
dish with parmesan was not labelled as vegetarian, even if it did not contain any other non-vegetarian dishes) because it contains rennet from calf.

Why? ‘Parmesan cheese’ cannot be vegetarian – because of the fact that in the EU in order for it to be legally called Parmesan or “Parmigiano-Reggiano” – it must come from
the Northern Italy area where animal rennet is used.

Comments are closed.